A LITTLE ABOUT MY LIFE.

IMG-20180331-WA0015

Humans, I am sure questions like what happened it has been one month without us hearing from you?????.. I have Two things to say SORRY!!!! and  LIFE HAPPENED . With uni and with me still trying to settle everything becomes very hectic and now that I am on break I thought well, this is the best opportunity to tell you about my experiences and realizations after living in Australia for the past 10 months OMG thinking about it time has flown.

Living in Australia has been different, it has been very exciting and very scary at the same time. I thought the pristine environment would change my thoughts when it came to where I come  from and who I am but contrary to that being here for almost one year has made me prouder to be African and prouder to be different.

IMG-20180331-WA0048

I was born and raised in the 254(KENYA) and by living there I did not understand what it meant to be African because everything  seemed normal, I did not appreciate the culture, music, style and people as much as I do now, I did not understand what it truly meant to be African, I honestly did not realize how beautiful my country is and most importantly I did not understand how diverse the continent(AFRICA) is.

The major lesson that I have learned living in Australia is that I am different and that DIFFERENT IS GOOD and this powerful feeling has made me appreciate myself more as an individual.The fact that I look very different from most people (with the kinky hair and melanin dripping skin hahaha)and  my train of thoughts are different from other people makes my desire to express myself as a different being grow more and more and it has and is still helping me discover who I am as a person and what I want to do in the near future.

IMG-20180331-WA0007

I have had the opportunity to meet people from various parts of Africa and to be honest that’s what makes it more and more beautiful. The thought of how far apart countries are but still how similar they are in terms of culture ,heritage,beliefs,customs and traditions is mind blowing. I have laughed and lived with people from all over the continent, and I am enjoying every bit of it and to be honest I am looking forward to what life has ahead of me. IT IS BEAUTIFUL TO BE DIFFERENT and it is a blessing in disguise.

IMG-20180331-WA0012

Being an African does not just mean that I was born in Africa. It means that I have embraced my culture and that I have acknowledged my worth. I am not an African because I was born in Africa but because Africa was born in me ,it is in my genes my DNA and my entire biological make up and I cannot be any prouder because being from Africa is the best thing that ever happened to me.

 

XOXO..

QUOTE

IMG-20180331-WA0018

Africa is not just a place it’s a feeling. Africa is the heart of the world and there is only a few of us who have been touched by her. Africa defines our soul and people can feel it. People  know that in Africa there is no us or them its just ALL OF US.

 

 

 

 

Published by: Margaret Dzimba

I am an African girl who believes that everything is possible, a girl who is enthusiastic about the future and what it holds. Call me a dreamer too.. life is too short not to dream. Walk with me through this journey called life. It makes it more interesting!

3 Comments

3 thoughts on “A LITTLE ABOUT MY LIFE.”

Leave a comment